Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review

screenshot_20190704-1839495167905018546780663.pngTitle: Serpent and Dove
Author: Shelby Mahurin
Publisher Info / Release: HarperTeen| September 3, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating:  5/5 *’s

Synopsis

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

This is an epic tale of two people who should never fall in love but defy the odds anyways. A fun and mischievous spin on a world that lives in an only black and white reality – witch hunters versus witches, right and wrong, people versus ‘abominations.’

Serpent and Dove is a fantastic debut novel filled with a wide variety of characters and scenarios. Lou is sassy with a survivor’s fight and attitude. Coco is her best friend who is a quick thinker and the best kind of person to have your back. Reid is a hunky man who is a little too serious about his job as a glorified witch hunter. They all go through a lot of drama and grow as characters up until the very end.

The layout of the 17th century France  and the charming occasional French word thrown in really sets the mood for Lou’s ultimate journey with Reid. It’s magical and exciting, a new take on witches in a story that makes me look forward to the next book since this will be a duology.

It’s filled with so many memorable moments and quotes and with how long it is, there’s never a dull moment. Despite the 500+ pages, it’s a really quick read especially towards the end when you don’t want to put it down. As soon as I finished, I immediately wanted to reread it and go over my favorite parts (which there were quite a few!)

When the final book is released, I will probably come back and post a few of my favorite quotes or make a new post about it!

 

To Pre-Order: (Check with Shelby’s Instagram, there’s a pre-order incentive!)
Amazon
Barnes and Noble (Special Edition)
Book Depository
Books a Million
Target
Waterstones

signature

One thought on “Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s