Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review

screenshot_20190704-1839495167905018546780663.pngTitle: Serpent and Dove
Author: Shelby Mahurin
Publisher Info / Release: HarperTeen| September 3, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating:  5/5 *’s

Synopsis

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

Continue reading “Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review”

Advertisements

Rise by Ellen Goodlett Review

screenshot_20190704-184713118800523852689638.png

Title: Rise
Author: Ellen Goodlett
Publisher Info / Release: Little Brown Books for Young Readers| June 11, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating: 4.5/ 5 *’s

Synopsis:

Sisters Akeylah, Ren, and Zofi are all a step closer to their dying father’s throne, a step closer to the crown that will allow one of them to rule over Kolonya. But the sisters’ pasts continue to haunt them. Each hides a secret marked with blood and betrayal, and now their blackmailer is holding nothing back. When King Andros discovers the sisters’ traitorous pasts, the consequences will shake the entire kingdom to its core.
As Kolonya’s greatest threat stalks closer and closer, weaving a web of fear and deceit around Ren, Zofi, and Akeylah, even the people they love are under suspicion. If the sisters are going to survive, they’ll have to learn to trust each other above all else and work together, not only to save themselves, but to protect everyone and everything they hold dear.
With shocking reveals and suspenseful storytelling, this breathtaking sequel to Rule will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Continue reading “Rise by Ellen Goodlett Review”

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson Review

screenshot_20190609-1645052444770510663541965.pngTitle: Sorcery of Thorns
Author: Margaret Rogerson
Publisher Info / Release: Margaret McElderry, Simon & Schuster / June 4, 2019
Source: E-Book from KT Literary
Rating: 5 / 5 *’s

Thank you to KT Literary for gifting me a copy of this book!
Synopsis: 

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather. She hopes to become a warden, charged with protecting the kingdom from their power.

Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire. Elisabeth’s desperate intervention implicates her in the crime, and she is torn from her home to face justice in the capital. With no one to turn to but her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn, and his mysterious demonic servant, she finds herself entangled in a centuries-old conspiracy. Not only could the Great Libraries go up in flames, but the world along with them.

As her alliance with Nathaniel grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught—about sorcerers, about the libraries she loves, even about herself. For Elisabeth has a power she has never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined.

Continue reading “Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson Review”

War of Mist by Helen Scheuerer Review

screenshot_20190505-1544005784705831870454241.pngTitle: War of Mist
Author: Helen Scheuerer
Publisher Info / Release: Talem Press | July 25, 2019
Source: ARC from Helen Scheuerer
Rating: 5 / 5 *’s
Synopsis:

War is here.

Toxic mist drives all life to the brink of destruction and the conqueror queen, Ines, has her talons in the kings of the realm.

Bleak, having discovered her true heritage, must now scour the lands for the one thing that might save them all.

But the search is a treacherous one – and it will push her to the very limits of endurance.

Amidst secrets, lies and the intricacies of battle, Bleak and her companions learn just how far they’ll go for the ones they love. But will it be enough?

As deadly forces grapple for power across the continents, families, friends and allies unite to take one final stand.

Explosive revelations, heart-wrenching betrayals and breathtaking magic soar in the epic conclusion to Helen Scheuerer’s bestselling trilogy, The Oremere Chronicles.

Thank you to Helen for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
If you have not read Heart of Mist or Reign of Mist, then tread carefully! This review may contain spoilers.

Continue reading “War of Mist by Helen Scheuerer Review”

Rage by Cora Carmack Review

screenshot_20190609-1646575850092235386941115.pngTitle: Rage
Author: Cora Carmack
Publisher Info / Release: TorTeen| August 27, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating: 4.5/ 5 *’s

If you haven’t read Roar, this may contain spoilers.

Synopsis:
Princess or adventurer.

Duty or freedom.

Her Kingdom or the Stormhunter she loves.

If Aurora knows anything, it’s that choices have consequences. To set things right, she joins a growing revolution on the streets of Pavan.

In disguise as the rebel Roar, she puts her knowledge of the palace to use to aid the rebellion. But the Rage season is at its peak and not a day passes without the skies raining down destruction. Yet these storms are different…they churn with darkness, and attack with a will that’s desperate and violent.

This feels like more than rage.

It feels like war.

Continue reading “Rage by Cora Carmack Review”

The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick Review

screenshot_20190604-1610474951557077949304725.pngTitle: The Phantom Tree
Author: Nicola Cornick
Publisher Info / Release: Graydon House| August 21, 2018
Source: Free Book from Harlequin Books
Rating: 4 / 5 *’s

Thank you to Graydon House / Harlequin Books for sending me this free copy of The Phantom Tree in exchange for an honest review! 

Synopsis:

Browsing antiques shops in Wiltshire, Alison Bannister stumbles across a delicate old portrait – supposedly of Anne Boleyn. Except Alison knows better… The woman is Mary Seymour, the daughter of Katherine Parr who was taken to Wolf Hall in 1557 as an unwanted orphan and presumed dead after going missing as a child.

The painting is more than just a beautiful object from Alison’s past – it holds the key to her future, unlocking the mystery surrounding Mary’s disappearance, and the enigma of Alison’s son.

But Alison’s quest soon takes a dark and foreboding turn, as a meeting place called the Phantom Tree harbours secrets in its shadows…

Continue reading “The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick Review”

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter Review

35493844_2007801509295300_2587498146917515264_n

Title: Bonfire
Author: Krysten Ritter
Publisher Info / Release: Crown Publishing | June 26, 2018 (Paperback Edition)
Source: Free Book from Crown Publishing
Rating: 4 / 5 *’s

Thank you to Crown Publishing for sending me this free copy of Bonfire in exchange for an honest review! 

Synopsis:

It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all visible evidence of her small town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands.

But when a new case takes her back home to Barrens, Indiana, the life Abby painstakingly created begins to crack. Tasked with investigating Optimal Plastics, the town’s most high-profile company and economic heart, Abby begins to find strange connections to Barrens’ biggest scandal from more than a decade ago involving the popular Kaycee Mitchell and her closest friends—just before Kaycee disappeared for good.

Abby knows the key to solving any case lies in the weak spots, the unanswered questions. But as Abby tries to find out what really happened to Kaycee, she unearths an even more disturbing secret—a ritual called “The Game,” which will threaten the reputations, and lives, of the community and risk exposing a darkness that may consume her.

With tantalizing twists, slow-burning suspense, and a remote, rural town of just five claustrophobic miles, Bonfire is a dark exploration of the question: can you ever outrun your past?

Continue reading “Bonfire by Krysten Ritter Review”