Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review

screenshot_20190704-1839495167905018546780663.pngTitle: Serpent and Dove
Author: Shelby Mahurin
Publisher Info / Release: HarperTeen| September 3, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating:  5/5 *’s

Synopsis

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

Continue reading “Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review”

Advertisements

War of Mist by Helen Scheuerer Review

screenshot_20190505-1544005784705831870454241.pngTitle: War of Mist
Author: Helen Scheuerer
Publisher Info / Release: Talem Press | July 25, 2019
Source: ARC from Helen Scheuerer
Rating: 5 / 5 *’s
Synopsis:

War is here.

Toxic mist drives all life to the brink of destruction and the conqueror queen, Ines, has her talons in the kings of the realm.

Bleak, having discovered her true heritage, must now scour the lands for the one thing that might save them all.

But the search is a treacherous one – and it will push her to the very limits of endurance.

Amidst secrets, lies and the intricacies of battle, Bleak and her companions learn just how far they’ll go for the ones they love. But will it be enough?

As deadly forces grapple for power across the continents, families, friends and allies unite to take one final stand.

Explosive revelations, heart-wrenching betrayals and breathtaking magic soar in the epic conclusion to Helen Scheuerer’s bestselling trilogy, The Oremere Chronicles.

Thank you to Helen for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
If you have not read Heart of Mist or Reign of Mist, then tread carefully! This review may contain spoilers.

Continue reading “War of Mist by Helen Scheuerer Review”

Giveaway Promo!

GIVEAWAY! Win a SIGNED Copy of this Hot, New Book

Who doesn’t love winning an author-signed copy of a hot, new book?

In May this year, the riveting science fiction/dystopian suspense about a future society’s frightening overdependence on technology, The Apollo Illusion, hit the market. A gripping story of opposing futures, it’s been racking up four-and-five-star reviews from readers and book bloggers. Now, author Shari Lopatin is giving away two SIGNED copies of The Apollo Illusion to two lucky winners!

Enter the Giveaway!

To enter the giveaway, sign up for Shari’s email list, “The Readers Club” before Sept. 30, 2018. Then, on Oct. 3, Shari will randomly select two lucky winners from the list of giveaway participants. You could be one of them!

1. Sign up for Shari’s “Readers Club” at this link: https://mailchi.mp/128965a01501/apollo-illusion-giveaway-entry.

2. That’s it!

But hurry and enter now, before you forget! And you might even get a sneak peek at the opening chapters (wink, wink). 😊

Review | Reign of Mist

20180725_1404373336717684789316321.jpgTitle: Reign of Mist
Author: Helen Scheuerer
Publisher Info / Release: Talem Press | September 13, 2018
Source: E-ARC from the author
Rating: 5 / 5 *’s
Synopsis:

The realm’s darkest secret is out.

The cruelty of the capital and the power-hungry King Arden have scattered Bleak and her companions across the continents.

On the run in a foreign land, Bleak finds herself tied to some unexpected strangers. When the answers she yearns for are finally within reach, she must face the hard truths of her past, and take her fate into her own hands before it’s too late.

Meanwhile, secrets and magic unravel as a dark power corrupts the realm. Bleak’s friends are forced to decide where their loyalties lie, and who, if anyone, they can trust.

But one thing is certain: war is coming, and they must all be ready when it does.

Thank you, Helen, for sending me a free copy of your book in exchange for an honest review! If you haven’t read Heart of Mist, this review may contain spoilers.

Continue reading “Review | Reign of Mist”

Review | Rule

Title: Rule
Author: Ellen Goodlett
Publisher Info / Release: Little Brown Books for Young Readers / September 11, 2018
Source: ARC from The NOVL
Rating: 4.5 / 5 *’s
Synopsis:
Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.

The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.

Or rather, three unexpected options.
Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she’s already gone.
Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.
Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady’s maid and scheming her way out of the servants’ chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she’s done.
When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny… to rule.
Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Thank you to The NOVL for sending me this ARC for free in exchange for an honest review!

Continue reading “Review | Rule”

Wonder Woman: Warbringer Review

515A8B9TTwL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher Info / Release: Penguin Random House / August 29, 2017
Source: ARC from Penguin Random House
Rating: 4 / 5 *’s
Synopsis: 

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .
Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

I was given this ARC for free for an honest review of the book. 

Continue reading “Wonder Woman: Warbringer Review”

Q&A with Heart of Mist Author: Helen Scheuerer

Hello everyone! Recently, I did a full review on the e-arc of Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer. Today I’ll be posting an interview that I had with Helen about her debut novel which releases on August 31! I really enjoyed the book and it’s characters. The ARC was so incredible that I can’t wait to order a physical copy to hold in my hands. The cover is absolutely stunning.

Before I go into the interview, here is the synopsis for the book and click on this {link} for my full review.

In a realm where toxic mist sweeps the lands and magic is forbidden, all Bleak wants is a cure for her power.

Still grieving the death of her guardian and dangerously self-medicating with alcohol, Bleak is snatched from her home by the Commander of the King’s Army, and summoned to the capital.

But the king isn’t the only one interested in Bleak’s powers.

The leader of an infamous society of warriors, the Valia Kindred, lays claim to her as well, and Bleak finds herself in the middle of a much bigger battle than she anticipated.

Heart of Mist is the gripping first book in The Oremere Chronicles, a fantasy series of epic proportions.

Alright guys! And here is the interview:
Continue reading “Q&A with Heart of Mist Author: Helen Scheuerer”