Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review

screenshot_20190704-1839495167905018546780663.pngTitle: Serpent and Dove
Author: Shelby Mahurin
Publisher Info / Release: HarperTeen| September 3, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating:  5/5 *’s

Synopsis

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

Continue reading “Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review”

Advertisements

Recommendation Wednesday

If you liked Roar by Cora Cormack then you’d like Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer.
Both have incredibly magical worlds that sucks you in. Here are a few reasons why you should check them out and I’ll include the synopsis for each beneath. 

  • Royalty ✓
  • Strong female leads ✓
  • Swoony badass men ✓
  • A group coming together ✓
  • Elemental magic ✓
  • Beautiful, unique worlds ✓
  • Addicting storylines ✓ 

Roar Synopsis
In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. 

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough. 

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.


Heart of Mist Synopsis

In a realm where toxic mist sweeps the lands and magic is forbidden, all Bleak wants is a cure for her power.

Still grieving the death of her guardian and dangerously self-medicating with alcohol, Bleak is snatched from her home by the Commander of the King’s Army, and summoned to the capital.

But the king isn’t the only one interested in Bleak’s powers.

The leader of an infamous society of warriors, the Valia Kindred, lays claim to her as well, and Bleak finds herself in the middle of a much bigger battle than she anticipated.

Heart of Mist is the gripping first book in The Oremere Chronicles, a fantasy series of epic proportions.

I also want to note that I am on the street team for both authors and I have to say, both Cora and Helen are incredibly sweet, lovely people and I’m so excited that I have been honored with the chance to work with them! 

TO PURCHASE: 
Roar by Cora Carmack
Amazon / Kindle
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository

Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer
Amazon / Kindle
Talem Press

 

signature

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson Review

screenshot_20190609-1645052444770510663541965.pngTitle: Sorcery of Thorns
Author: Margaret Rogerson
Publisher Info / Release: Margaret McElderry, Simon & Schuster / June 4, 2019
Source: E-Book from KT Literary
Rating: 5 / 5 *’s

Thank you to KT Literary for gifting me a copy of this book!
Synopsis: 

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather. She hopes to become a warden, charged with protecting the kingdom from their power.

Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire. Elisabeth’s desperate intervention implicates her in the crime, and she is torn from her home to face justice in the capital. With no one to turn to but her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn, and his mysterious demonic servant, she finds herself entangled in a centuries-old conspiracy. Not only could the Great Libraries go up in flames, but the world along with them.

As her alliance with Nathaniel grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught—about sorcerers, about the libraries she loves, even about herself. For Elisabeth has a power she has never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined.

Continue reading “Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson Review”

Reign of Mist Tour & GIVEAWAY

Hi guys! I’m very excited to be a part of the Reign of Mist tour that is hosted by the author Helen Scheuerer and The Bookshelf Bitch. If you haven’t read Heart of Mist, I highly recommend a quick binge read before this beauty comes out!

Continue reading “Reign of Mist Tour & GIVEAWAY”

Review | Reign of Mist

20180725_1404373336717684789316321.jpgTitle: Reign of Mist
Author: Helen Scheuerer
Publisher Info / Release: Talem Press | September 13, 2018
Source: E-ARC from the author
Rating: 5 / 5 *’s
Synopsis:

The realm’s darkest secret is out.

The cruelty of the capital and the power-hungry King Arden have scattered Bleak and her companions across the continents.

On the run in a foreign land, Bleak finds herself tied to some unexpected strangers. When the answers she yearns for are finally within reach, she must face the hard truths of her past, and take her fate into her own hands before it’s too late.

Meanwhile, secrets and magic unravel as a dark power corrupts the realm. Bleak’s friends are forced to decide where their loyalties lie, and who, if anyone, they can trust.

But one thing is certain: war is coming, and they must all be ready when it does.

Thank you, Helen, for sending me a free copy of your book in exchange for an honest review! If you haven’t read Heart of Mist, this review may contain spoilers.

Continue reading “Review | Reign of Mist”

War Storm Review

81JF1hfSm5L

Title: War Storm
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publisher Info / Release: Harper Collins / May 15, 2018
Source: Personal Purchase from Target
Rating: 3.5 / 5 *’s
Synopsis:

VICTORY COMES AT A PRICE.

Mare Barrow learned this all too well when Cal’s betrayal nearly destroyed her. Now determined to protect her heart—and secure freedom for Reds and newbloods like her—Mare resolves to overthrow the kingdom of Norta once and for all . . . starting with the crown on Maven’s head.

But no battle is won alone, and before the Reds may rise as one, Mare must side with the boy who broke her heart in order to defeat the boy who almost broke her. Cal’s powerful Silver allies, alongside Mare and the Scarlet Guard, prove a formidable force. But Maven is driven by an obsession so deep, he will stop at nothing to have Mare as his own again, even if it means demolish everything—and everyone—in his path.

War is coming, and all Mare has fought for hangs in the balance. Will victory be enough to topple the Silver kingdoms? Or will the little lightning girl be forever silenced?

In the epic conclusion to Victoria Aveyard’s stunning series, Mare must embrace her fate and summon all her power . . . for all will be tested, but not all will survive.

If you have not read this series, there may be spoilers! Tread carefully 🙂

Continue reading “War Storm Review”

Review Tour: Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

Hi everyone! I’m partnering with Glasstown Entertainment to do a review for Spindle Fire for the upcoming release of the last book in the duology, Winter Glass (coming April 10, 2018!).

Continue reading “Review Tour: Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer”