Vow of Thieves by Mary E. Pearson Review

screenshot_20190704-1844424074577087030507279.pngTitle: Vow of Thieves
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Publisher Info / Release: Henry Holt and Co. | August 6, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating:  5/5 *’s

Synopsis:

Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in love than ever. Their new life now lies before them—the Ballengers will be outlaws no longer, Tor’s Watch will be a kingdom, and Kazi and Jase will meet all challenges side by side, together at last.

But an ominous warning mars their journey back, and they soon find themselves captured in a tangled web of deceit woven by their greatest enemies and unlikeliest allies, a place where betrayals run deeper and more deadly than either had thought possible, and where timeless ambitions threaten to destroy them both.

If you have not read Dance of Thieves or The Remnant Chronicles, you will be spoiled.

Continue reading “Vow of Thieves by Mary E. Pearson Review”

Advertisements

Dance of Thieves-Mary E. Pearson Review

screenshot_20190704-1843208995428301406303102.pngTitle: Dance of Thieves
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Publisher Info / Release: Henry Holt and Co| August 7, 2018
Source: Purchased Finished Copy
Rating:  5/5 *’s

Synopsis:

A formidable outlaw family that claims to be the first among nations.

A son destined to lead, thrust suddenly into power.

Three fierce young women of the Rahtan, the queen’s premier guard.

A legendary street thief leading a mission, determined to prove herself.

A dark secret that is a threat to the entire continent.

When outlaw leader meets reformed thief, a cat-and-mouse game of false moves ensues, bringing them intimately together in a battle that may cost them their lives—and their hearts.

The Remnant Chronicles
The Beauty of Darkness
The Heart of Betrayal
The Kiss of Deception

—If you have not read The Remnant Chronicles, there will be slight spoilers in this duology.–

Continue reading “Dance of Thieves-Mary E. Pearson Review”

Guest Post: Bronwyn Eley

Topic: How travel consistently inspires ideas for you.

Answer:

I don’t know how many times I’ve seen something or experienced something while travelling that made me stop and pocket an idea for a future story. More accurately, my mind would stop and take note. 

Sometimes it’s a place… 

Like this time I was at the Mezquita in Cordoba, Spain, and literally spent the whole time there taking photos of the incredible interior because I knew I had to use it as inspiration for the setting of a future series. I just knew. In my gut. The whole place spoke to me. I felt like the dorkiest tourist, taking ‘happy snaps’ of every single thing… but that wasn’t the reason! I wish I could have worn a sign that said ‘I’m a writer; everything I do is in the name of research’. 

 

Sometimes it’s a moment…

When I was in Mongolia, our tour group emerged from the wild and isolated Steppes into ‘civilisation’ in order to witness the Naadam Festival, an incredible spectacle that celebrates and presents ‘the three games of men’. In Mongolia that is Mongolian wrestling, horse racing and archery. Driving around in our seatbelt-less Russian vans, we were a little lost. I mean… it’s not like here where there are signs everywhere and people to direct you. There isn’t some grand stadium where the events are held. No, the first event – horse racing, which consisted of tiny, tiny children racing bareback across the plains – was out in the middle of nowhere.

There was no one in sight. But then we spotted it: a single vehicle parked in all its loneliness in the creeping fog that blanketed the plains. So we drove up to it and were excited when we realised it was, in fact, a police car! Huzzah! Surely, this kind officer would direct us to where we needed to go.

The morning of Naadam - photo by Bronwyn Eley

How wrong we were. The first thing we saw was a large boot dangling out of the passenger window. Asleep? Dead? Murdered in the night by a faceless fiend? Who knows!? One of our guides, Tsenkhee, approached the car and spoke with the – clearly alive, phew – man. When Tsenkhee returned he explained that the policeman had absolutely no idea and absolutely no interest in helping us find our way. 

All at once it hit me – like the dramatic opening to a movie at the cinema, with a screen so large it utterly dominates your entire vision. What hit me? The opening to another story I want to eventually write. This one was very different to what I write now, it wasn’t fantasy when it came to me but I would love to rework it somehow. 

The point is… travel opens doors for writers because of one simple fact: we experience things out of our ‘norm’. This has a very powerful effect – it amazes us, shocks us, confuses us, humours us… and these are key ingredients to writing. You need to be amazed, shocked, confused and humoured by what you write. Travelling makes me feel alive and so does my writing. One feeds into the other. Travelling inspires new ideas and writing inspires me to look at the world and see endless possibilities. Endless ideas. Endless chances to learn and experience something new.

All I can say is this: travel, my friends, travel.

RELIC, Bronwyn Eley’s debut fantasy novel, is slated for release September 12.

About the author

Bronwyn joined the military right out of high school, where she learnt (among other things) to disassemble and reassemble a rifle blindfolded. After that she spent a lot of her time travelling around the world. Her favourite places (so far) are Scotland, Mongolia, Iceland and Ireland.

Bronwyn finally found her natural habitat when she landed her first job in the publishing industry. While she has always been a writer, it was only when surrounding herself with books that she realised her life’s dream was to become an author. Relic is her first novel.

Bronwyn lives in Sydney and spends her time eating chocolate, reading and practising her martial arts.

Author Links!

 

 To Purchase:

  • For those in Australia & New Zealand:
    Talem Press
    Booktopia (signed edition!)
    -Better Read than Dead – Bronwyn & Talem are having a release party, check out their socials for more information
  • Amazon (will link once available!)

Soundtrack to the Pages | Serpent & Dove

Have you ever read a book and all of a sudden, you’re listening to the radio or (in my case) a playlist and felt like a song fit that book so perfectly well that it was stuck in your head? Well that certainly happened to me! So I wanted to try this little blog post idea for whenever this happens and I really hope that you guys like it!

This case in particular, I had just finished reading Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin (amazing book, btw – full review here)  and this Breaking Benjamin song came on and it just fit.

Release day is today and I hope all of you will come back to this post and see if you agree as well! I’ll highlight the parts that really resonated with me.

I see nothing in your eyes,
And the more I see the less I like.

Is it over yet, in my head?

I know nothing of your kind,
And I won’t reveal your evil mind.

Is it over yet? I can’t win.

So sacrifice yourself, and let me have what’s left.
I know that I can find the fire in your eyes.
I’m going all the way, get away, please.

You take the breath right out of me.
You left a hole where my heart should be.
You got to fight just to make it through,
‘Cause I will be the death of you.

This will be all over soon.
Pour the salt into the open wound.

Is it over yet? Let me in.

So sacrifice yourself, and let me have what’s left.
I know that I can find the fire in your eyes.
I’m going all the way, get away, please.

You take the breath right out of me.
You left a hole where my heart should be.
You got to fight just to make it through,
‘Cause I will be the death of you.

I’m waiting, I’m praying, realize, start hating.

You take the breath right out of me.
You left a hole where my heart should be.
You got to fight just to make it through,
‘Cause I will be the death of you.

signature

Rage By Cora Carmack | Release Day Blitz & Exclusive Preview

RAGEgraphic_day2

 

From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack, the second in the captivating new YA fantasy/romance Stormheart series, perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.

 

 

 

 

Princess or adventurer.

Duty or freedom.

Her Kingdom or the storm hunter she loves.

If Aurora knows anything, it’s that choices have consequences. To set things right, she joins a growing revolution on the streets of Pavan.

In disguise as the rebel Roar, she puts her knowledge of the palace to use to aid the rebellion. But the Rage season is at its peak and not a day passes without the skies raining down destruction. Yet these storms are different…they churn with darkness, and attack with a will that’s desperate and violent.

This feels like more than rage.
It feels like war.


Preview, Tour Information, Purchase Links and Giveaway below!! ↓


Continue reading “Rage By Cora Carmack | Release Day Blitz & Exclusive Preview”

Relic by Bronwyn Eley – Review & Interview

Title: Relic
Author: Bronwyn Eley
Publisher Info / Release: Talem Press | September 12, 2019
Source: E-ARC
Rating: 5 / 5 *’s

Thank you to Talem Press for sending me an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Synopsis:
In the city of Edriast, there is no deadlier duty than to serve as the Shadow.
As the personal servant of the powerful Lord Rennard, the Shadow’s life is all but forfeit. Rennard possesses one of five rare and dangerous Relics – a jewel that protects his bloodline, but slowly poisons everyone else in its proximity. When the current Shadow succumbs to its magic, nineteen-year-old blacksmith Kaylan is summoned to take his place.
It’s an appointment that will kill her.
As the time Kaylan has left ebbs away, hope begins to fade… That is, until she discovers a plot to destroy all five bloodlines in possession of the Relics.
A rebel force plans to put an end to Rennard’s rule and Kaylan suddenly finds herself embroiled in a cause that might just be worth fighting for. But no cause is without its costs..
As her life hangs in the balance and rebellion bears down on Edriast, Kaylan must decide where her loyalties lie – and how she’ll leave her mark on the world.
Relic is the absorbing first novel in The Relic Trilogy, a thrillingly dark YA fantasy series.

Continue reading “Relic by Bronwyn Eley – Review & Interview”

Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review

screenshot_20190704-1839495167905018546780663.pngTitle: Serpent and Dove
Author: Shelby Mahurin
Publisher Info / Release: HarperTeen| September 3, 2019
Source: ARC
Rating:  5/5 *’s

Synopsis

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

Continue reading “Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin Review”